Virginia Tech®home

Executive Committee + Dean's Office

Photo of Richard Blythe talking with team members.

School and College Leadership and Staff

Meet the college's administrative team, including the school directors, executive committee, and dean's office staff. College administrative offices are located in Cowgill Hall on the main Virginia Tech campus in Blacksburg.


Executive Committee

Headshot of Richard Blythe

Richard Blythe

Dean of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies

Blacksburg campus
Contact via Chriss Mattsson-Coon

Keith Goyne

Kathryn Albright headshot

Kathryn Clarke Albright

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Blacksburg campus

Robert "Bob" Smith Headshot

Paul Emmons Headshot

Paul Emmons

Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Alexandria campus

Robert "Bob" Smith Headshot

Headshot of Yang Zhang

Yang Zhang

Associate Dean for Research

Blacksburg campus

Joel W. Snodgrass

Headshot of Ann-Marie Knoblauch.

Ann-Marie Knoblauch

Interim Director, School of Visual Arts

Blacksburg campus

Jay Sullivan

Mehrzad Boroujerdi headshot

Mehrzad Boroujerdi

Director, School of Public and International Affairs

Arlington campus

Tom Crawford, Department Chair of Geography

Aaron Betsky headshot

Aaron Betsky

Director, School of Architecture + Design

Blacksburg campus

Ching-Hsun Huang

Brian Kleiner headhot

Brian Kleiner

Director, Myers-Lawson School of Construction

Blacksburg campus

Michael J. Mortimer

Leisha LaRiviere headshot

Leisha LaRiviere

Director of Strategic Planning

Richmond campus

John Freeborn, Director of Employer Relations

Cecily Rodriguez headshot

Cecily Rodriguez

Director of Inclusion and Diversity

Richmond campus

Stephanie Hart

Roslyn Garrison headshot

Roslyn Garrison

Director of Human Resources

Blacksburg campus

Lon A. Weber

Erin Poff headshot

Erin Poff

Assistant Dean of Administration and Finance

Blacksburg campus

Rick Craig

Director of Information Technology

Blacksburg campus



Dean's Office Personnel

Christine Mattsson-Coon headshot

Christine Mattsson-Coon

Executive Assistant to the Dean

Blacksburg campus

Justina Sumpter headshot

Justina Sumpter

Interim Chief Advancement Officer

Blacksburg campus

Rob Jacks headshot

Robert Jacks

Director of Academic Advising

Blacksburg campus

Joshua Sweeney headshot

Joshua Sweeney

Assistant Director of Development for Leadership Gifts

Blacksburg campus

Kasia Fthenos headshot

Katarzyna Fthenos

Advancement Associate

Blacksburg campus

Headshot of Michael Capocelli.

Michael Capocelli

Digital Communication Specialist

Blacksburg campus

Jennifer Yates headshot

Jennifer Yates

Senior Fiscal Technician 

Blacksburg campus

Robert Vaughan

Robert Vaughan

IT Specialist

Blacksburg campus

Brian Squibb headhot

Brian Squibb

Safety Compliance Officer

Blacksburg campus

Pamela Starkey headshot

Pamela Starkey

Pre-Award Associate

Blacksburg campus

Jeff Snider headshot

Jeffrey Snider

Metal Shop Supervisor/ Facilities Manager

Blacksburg campus